From an Apple Orchard to an Engineering Firm

Our draftsperson, Kimberly Snyder, is a wonderful addition to the Kaaterskill team. She has worked with us for six years. Her days are spent bringing life to design concepts by creating them in 3D. For more about what she does click here.

Beyond being a skilled draftsperson, Kimberly has led an interesting life. Here’s a little more about her:

I grew up in a small town in south eastern Pennsylvania where there wasn’t much to do.  We lived on a property where my father had planted 8 acres of apple trees, and we spent a lot of our summer working in the orchard and maintaining equipment.  I discovered I had an aptitude for viewing things in 3 d and figuring out how things worked.  As a young person I traveled the country extensively and generally made my living as an auto mechanic and carpenter.  After sustaining some physical injuries, transitioning into architectural and civil computer design was an obvious choice given my background and experience in construction.  I have worked for a number of architectural and civil design firms around the country, and learned much from the broad range of projects that I’ve been involved in. I enjoy working with people and helping them to create an environment that reflects their dreams and desires.  I love that I can build 3 dimensional surfaces in the computer visually review my constructions to readily determine the feasibility of a design.

apple orchard

My primary interest outside of work is camping and working on my vintage trailer. Trust me, reconstruction was not on the agenda when I purchased what appeared to be a sturdy old camper.  Upon my first camping trip with rain dripping on my head in the middle of the night, I determined that this was unfortunately a project. I have currently replaced the entire front, roof and rear, and made and installed cabinets and drawer faces and new doors for it and am stripping all the paint off the outside in preparation for re-painting. Thankfully I have old friends who are generous with their skills and time. I love to fly fish, and although I’m not all that great at it, I enjoy spending time in the outdoors during the process and my trailer allows me a bit of comfort while I do so.  I love the freedom that it gives me to be able to hook it up on a Friday night, and retreat locally to a beautiful place for the weekend.

camping 01

camping 02

Thank you Kimberly for all you do!

Leave a comment