From Washington State to Upstate New York

At Kaaterskill one of our newer employees is our Administrative Assistant. Mikala sits at the reception desk and greets clients, answers phones and helps with paperwork. She also doubles as the Marketing Coordinator. Here’s a little bit about Mikala:

I am not originally from New York, I grew up in Washington State. I moved here about a year ago. After graduating college in Portland, Oregon, I wanted a change of scenery. One of my good friends from college is from Upstate New York and offered that I could be her roommate. Shortly after moving here I was hired at Kaaterskill.

http://wsrporg.homestead.com/

The Columbia Gorge in Washington State

Working at an engineering firm is very different from other jobs I have had. I previously worked as a pre-school teacher and a waitress. Although I did work as a public relations assistant for a year and that was great experience for the marketing work I do now for Kaaterskill.

Outside of work I volunteer at my local church and at the National Young Farmer’s Coalition. The National Young Farmer’s Coalition is an organization dedicated to assisting small farms. They are involved in legislation and have local chapters to support farmers. I help out with membership retention and connections. I enjoy working with farmers because I grew up on a small farm. As a kid my family raised cattle, chickens, swine and beefalo which is a mix between buffalo and cattle.

Beefalo look very similar to regular beef cows but often have broader shoulders and thicker hair.

Beefalo look very similar to regular beef cows but often have broader shoulders and thicker hair.

At the church, I have volunteered at youth events, and community events. The next big project at Community Life Church is Light the Night which is an alternative to trick-or-treating. Our entire building, is filled with games, prizes and candy. The gym hosts large bounce houses. This year the local fire department is getting involved and will have their trucks in the parking lot available for kids to tour.

I also am attending graduate school for Organizational Leadership, which is a type of business degree. When I am not doing homework or maintaining my other commitments I enjoy traveling. Because I am new to the East Coast I have enjoyed visiting all of the North Eastern states.

Leave a comment